2010-01-14 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The York County Racing Club held it’s annual banquet this past weekend in York with SPEED’s Dave Despain as guest speaker.

Hagerstown’s Denny Bonebrake was inducted into the YCRC Hall of Fame as Present Driver as was car owner Carl Billet Sr., and Speed Dawg’s Chris Figdore. In the past category, driver was Gus Linder, owner was Bud Lawrence and miscellaneous was Bill Brunner.

Greg Hodnett won the Kevin Gobrecht Memorial Special achievement award and his crew chief Lee Stauffer won the Ed Stauffer Mechanic of the Year award. Hodnett also was presented with the $3,000 Speed Dawg point fund money after winning that series in 2009.

Port Royal Speedway held its banquet this past Saturday night honoring its drivers from 2009 as champions were Todd Shaffer, Scott Haus and Terry Naugle. Michael Heckman, a Penn State student from Chambersburg, won 410 Sprint car Rookie of the Year along with TJ Winegardner and Brian Ehrenzeller, Mike Erdley got the Sportsmanship award. Late model awards went to Eric Zembower (Sportsmanship) and Garrett Gray and Jeff Johnson (rookies). Port Royal announced they would be going to Goodyear tires as well this season and their season opener is slated for Sunday, March 14.

The Bedford Speedway recently honored its 2009 champions at its banquet with champions Jack Pencil (late models), Mike Duck and Tim Smith (limited lates) and Jim Saylor And Bob Jay (street stocks) were season champs. It was interesting as the limited and street stock division had co-champions due to several late season rainouts. Bedford will kick off its 2010 racing season on April 16.

The annual Dirt Trackin show is this weekend at the York expo Center at the York Fairgrounds. It begins on Friday and runs this Sunday afternoon. Many local race cars will be on display.

Still enjoying the Cowboys thrashing of the Eagles in the Wild Card game and hoping this could be a good year for the Boys! So until next time, email reaches me at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top