2009-11-19 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

As the 2009 racing season is in the books, it’s that time of year when we rank the best of 2009 in all local divisions for the season. We will go over the final rankings in this column, but if you’d like to see the complete write-up on each driver for the season, please visit www.ijustwannarace.com.

In the 410 Sprint ranks, Greg Hodnett sits on top of the list for the season after his 10-win season that included three World of Outlaws wins at Williams Grove and a top-20 finish in the Knoxville Nationals.

Following Hodnett in order are Todd Shaffer, Stevie Smith, Cody Darrah, Brian Montieth, Daryn Pittman, Fred Rahmer, Lance Dewease, Mark Smith and Doug Esh.

Over in the 360/358 Sprint ranks, young URC racer JJ Grasso heads the list for 2009 after his first career URC title and six-win season. Trailing Grasso are Cory Haas, Pat Cannon, Brad McClelland, Nate Snyder, Dale Hammaker, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Davey Sammons, Bill Dietrich and Scott Geesey.

We put Jason Covert on top of the Late Model ranks this season as he scored nine wins on the year, including a Lucas Oil win and had numerous top-five finishes with the Outlaws and Lucas series.

Jamie Lathroum finished a close second in the final deal over Jeff Rine, Roy Deese Jr., Scott Haus, Josh Richards, DJ Myers, Jack Pencil, Jeremy Miller and Frankie Plessinger.

Carmen Perigo Jr. is the top Super Sportsman driver for 2009 ahead of Chad Criswell, Frankie Herr, Bobby Hockenberry, Scott Dellinger, Rich Eichelberger, Russ Mitten, Rick Barr, Paul Miller and Jason Fry.

And finally in the 358 Late Model ranks, we gave the Best of 2009 to Hagerstown champion Kyle Lear over Gene Knaub, Ashley Barrett, Jake Jones and Bobby Beard.

Keeping it short till next time. And as always e-mail hits me up at Bvores@comcast.net.

Return to top