2009-10-15 / Sports

Path Valley Speedway Results

By Rob Keller

The annual 50-Lap Strictly Stock Showdown marks the end of the racing season for the Saturday night stock car drivers at Path Valley Speedway. Four drivers added their names to the list of Showdown winners for the first time, while another became the second driver to win the Showdown in two different divisions.

The 4-Cylinder Strictly Stocks got the show under way and Lonnie Hobday took the lead on lap one. Dan Smith passed Kurt Knepper for second on lap two, and Robbie Imgrund passed Knepper a lap later for third. Two laps later, Imgrund was in second and on lap 15 Imgrund took the lead exiting turn four. The only caution was waved on lap 29 when Frankie Gordon stopped in turn four and while the yellow was still out Knepper also lost power. After the restart, Imgrund pulled away to win by more than a full straightaway. Hobday finished second, Smith third, Justin Williamson fourth and Jesse Dehart fifth. Imgrund won 10 features this year and he also won the point championship.

Jason Stoner started on the pole of the 6-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature and led every lap to claim the win. Stoner was leading by more than a straightaway when the caution came out on lap 41. It appeared Shyla Winnick would have a shot at passing Stoner, but a lap later she slowed with mechanical woes and had to pit. The top five were Stoner, Steve Lake, Winnick, Barry Hawbaker, and David Reagh.

Gary Guise was the only Strictly Stock Truck to register, and he ran his race with the 6- Cylinder Strictly Stocks. Guise still ran hard, finishing only one lap down to Jason Stoner and third overall.

Sammy Rial had only visited Path Valley Speedway once before and on his second trip he decided to bring his race car. When the inversion put Rial on the outside of the front row of the Super Stock feature, he outpowered polesitter Adam Imes at the drop of the green. When the first caution came out on lap 13 the top five were Sam Rial, Adam Imes, Steve Harlan, Craig Imes and Adam Yetter. The top five stayed nearly bumper-tobumper and in that order until Harlan lost his right rear wheel on lap 39. Five laps later Adam Imes slowed and coasted to a stop in turn one. On the last restart, Craig Imes gave one final attempt to pass the leader, but Rial was strong in the high groove and never faltered, leading all 50 laps for the win. Craig Imes finished second, ahead of Adam Yetter and Mike Saylor. Terry Smith returned from losing a wheel to finish fifth. Saylor was the heat race victor, and Adam Imes the 2009 point champion.

Glenn Winnick dominated the 8-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature, starting on the pole and leading all 50 laps for the win. A.J. Verno had his strongest run of the year finishing in a solid second position. Last year Brandon Little lead 48 laps of the Showdown feature only to finish second. Saturday night Little could only muster a third-place finish. Tim Wagner drove the car normally driven by Ray Duffy and finished fourth. Carl Miller had an adventurous race and came home fifth. Winnick had also won the Showdown in the 6-Cylinder division several years ago, making him the second driver to accomplish that feat. Winnick also won the heat race and Carl Miller won the point championship.

Path Valley concludes the racing season Friday night, October 16 with the third Annual Wes Scofield Memorial for 4-Cylinder Thunder Cars and Mini Stocks, along with PA Sprint Series 305 Sprints, Late Models and Sidewinders.

Return to top