2009-10-08 / Local & State

Gordon And Ott Claim Shootout Wins

Path Valley Speedway
By Rob Keller

Twenty-nine Mini Stock and 27 4-Cylinder Thunder Car drivers signed in to take a shot at the $500 to win 9th annual 4- Cylinder Shootout at Path Valley Speedway. Along with the Shootout, the final points race for the Strictly Stocks and Super Stocks was also on the card.

Henry Lesher started on the pole of the Mini Stock feature, but never led a lap as Kyle Wiser powered into the lead from the outside row on lap one. Gary Dehart moved past Lesher and into second on lap seven. Fourteen caution periods interrupted the 50-lap event and put a premium on restarts. On a restart on lap 19 Dehart used the high groove in turns one and two, sweeping around Wiser to take the lead. Wiser stayed close to Dehart, with Frank Gordon just behind the two leaders. On a restart on lap 28, Wiser regained the lead with an inside move. Dehart drove to the inside of Wiser, exiting turn two on a restart on lap 32. Dehart drove deep into turn three trying to clear Wiser. As both Dehart and Wiser slid high, Gordon cut down to the apron, moving from third to first in one quick pass. Over the remaining 18 laps Dehart applied constant pressure on Gordon, getting alongside almost every lap. But Gordon never faltered and used the momentum of the high groove to hold on to the lead and take the win. It was an emotional victory lane celebration as Gordon dedicated the win to his father, who passed away last year. Kevin Thomas beat Wiser to the finish line by inches to finish third, and Greg Moore rounded out the top five. Thomas, Jodie Varner and Mike Potts won the heat races and Jeremy Truax won the consolation. Chris Smith improved the most positions to win the hard-charger award.

The 30-lap 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature got off to a rough start with two cautions before the first lap was complete. Tom Crum took the lead on lap one from his second-place starting position. Tyler Adams got a nice start, moving from sixth to second by lap three. Jeremy Ott slipped back on the start but immediately started making up the positions, taking back third on lap four and then passing Adams for second on lap six. Crum slipped on lap nine, losing the lead to Ott, second to Adams, and third to Justin Rasp. Ott and Adams put some distance between themselves and third place as they worked their way through the back of the field. Adams never let Ott get more than a few car lengths away until he spun out exiting turn four with only two laps to go. On the restart, Justin Rasp spun on the front stretch, sending him to the rear of the lead lap cars and putting polesitter Darryl Kohr into second. The final caution came with one lap to go. Ott pulled away to take the win while Kohr slowed on the final lap and finished 15th. Second through fifth went to John Rasp, D.J. Keefer, Lyle Barnes and Nick Ruhl. Justin Rasp, John Rasp, and Tyler Adams won the heat races. Nick Ruhl won the consolation and also the hard-charger award.

Jason Stoner led by nearly half a lap at the finish of the 6- Cylinder Strictly Stock feature for his first win of the year. Eric McKee and David Reaugh battled bumper-to-bumper most of the event, with McKee taking second and Reagh third. Chad Earnst finished fourth in his first race at Path Valley, and Dan Gelwick finished fifth. Stoner also won the heat race. Gelwick is the point champion for 2009.

Gary “Peanut Man” Guise won the Strictly Stock Truck feature in his first visit to Path Valley, beating Chuck Gipe. Gipe won the heat and is the point champion.

Robbie Imgrund capped off his championship run with his ninth win of the year in the 4- Cylinder Strictly Stocks. Dan Smith finished second, Zack Orner third, Jesse Dehart fourth, and Ellis Whitzel in fifth. Imgrund also won a heat race along with Rusty Garlock.

Tim Hahn made his first-ever trip to Path Valley a productive one, starting on the pole and leading all 20 laps of the Super Stock feature for the win. Adam Yetter was in second until he got a flat right rear on the final lap. Adam Imes finished second and locked up the point championship. Craig Imes finished third, ahead of Steve Harlan and Adam Smith. Hahn and Adam Imes won the heat races.

Nine drivers took the initial green flag for the 8-Cylinder Strictly Stock feature. By lap seven, only three cars remained. Joey Burdge outlasted Ray Duffy for his second win of the year and Doug Weller finished third. Danny Atherton won the heat race. Carl Miller is the point champion.

Return to top