2009-10-01 / Sports

Dehart And Falini Get First Wins

By Rob Keller

With the end of the season fast approaching some race teams are still searching for their first win. Friday night two teams found victory lane for the first time in 2009.

Jeremy Ott looked to be the driver to beat when he started on the pole of the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature and was pulling away from second-place Buddy Smith. That was until lap 14, when Ott suffered a flat right rear tire and had to pit. On the ensuing restart, Smith also suffered a flat tire and had to pit. Josh Walstrum had been running third since lap eight and took over the lead on the next restart. Tom Crum restarted second and was still there when he got a flat right rear tire with one lap to go. Walstrum pulled away from Justin Rasp after the final restart on lap 20 for his second win this year. Second through fifth were in a tight contest the entire distance. At the end it was Justin Rasp finishing second, ahead of Bob Starr, D.J. Keefer, and John Rasp. Heat race victories went to Smith and John Rasp.

Brian Marriott started on the pole of the 270cc Micro Sprint feature and he took the lead on lap one. His lead only lasted five laps when he suffered mechanical failure and stopped on the front stretch, bringing out the only caution of the event. From there Eric Falini led the remaining 15 laps, with his uncle, Dave, just a few car lengths back in second. Steve Whary restarted in third and barely held off Ryan McAndrew by less than a foot to finish third. Levi Peck started 12th and finished fifth. In victory lane, Eric Falini said this was his first start this season and his first victory ever. Eric Falini and Marriott were the heat winners.

A low cushion made for a narrow groove for the Late Model feature, and made passing a difficult proposition. Brad Kling started on the pole and led from the drop of the green until lap 12. He jumped the cushion in turn one, allowing Andy Fries to get beside him exiting turn two. Fries had the preferred line entering turn three and took the lead. Kling could not mount a challenge for the lead after that, and Fries led the rest of the way in the nonstop event for his second win at Path Valley this year. Kling finished second and Scott Richwine kept Jerry Bard a few

car lengths behind to capture .................. third. Nick Dickson finished fifth

in his Path Valley debut. Tim Fedder and Kling won the heat races.

Jason Rochelle started second in the Glick Fire Equipment/ Central PA Legend Car feature and out-powered polesitter Greg Burd for the lead on lap one. Rochelle appeared to have the field covered, until just past halfway when he got a flat right front tire. When Rochelle went high, Randy Kissinger passed Burd and Rochelle to take the lead. When the caution fell one lap later, the top five were Kissinger, Burd, Lucas Montgomery, Todd McCollum and Harlan Leppo. Although second through fifth ran the rest of the race virtually bumper-tobumper, there was no further passing and that is how they finished. It was Kissinger’s third win at Path Valley this year. The feature started out with a bad incident in which Bob Brubaker barrel-rolled several times in turn two. Although the car was badly damaged, Brubaker climbed out under his own power. Heat race wins went to Burd, Rochelle, and Scott Houdeshell.

Timmie Barrick moved from fourth to first on lap one of the 600cc Micro Sprint feature. Lap two saw Tyler Walton coming from eighth into second. One lap later Jim Brookens made his way from 10th to third. With no cautions to slow the pace the 10- car field began to spread out. Just past halfway, Walton began to reel in Barrick, and on lap 16 Walton made what turned out to be the winning pass. Barrick held on to second, finishing ahead of Brookens, Travis Saner and Jesse Fitz. Saner won the heat race.

Kyle Wiser started second in the Mini Stock feature and took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Gary Dehart found the high groove to his liking and made a sweeping pass around Wiser in turns one and two on lap three to take the lead. A lap later Scott Gordon used the same move at the other end of the track to move into second. The last of four cautions came on lap 17, bunching the field for one last shot. But Dehart was determined, and pulled away to get his first win in 2009 at Path Valley. Scott Gordon held on to second. Kyle Wiser finished third with Frank Gordon in fourth and Gary Newell fifth. Heat race victories went to Frank Gordon and Dehart.

There are two more weeks remaining on the schedule for 2009, including the 4-Cylinder Shootout for Mini Stocks and 4- Cylinder Thunder Cars on October 3, the Wes Scofield Memorial for the same two divisions on October 9, and the Strictly Stock Showdown October 10th.

Return to top