2009-09-24 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Fayetteville's Lance Dewease came out on top of Saturday night's 30-lap 410 Sprint National Open at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Dewease led all 30 laps for his second career Open win that came over Brian Leppo, Pat Cannon, Greg Hodnett and Cody Darrah.

Scott Dellinger picked up the big $4,000 payday in his first career Sportsman 100 win Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Dellinger took the lead on lap 88 and held off a late charge from Carmen Perigo, who came from the rear of the field two times for the win. Russ Mitten, Leroy Martin and Rich Eichelberger completed the top five.

Putting an exclamation point on his championship season, Kyle Lear won the Late Model Sportsman portion of Saturday's Small Car Nationals at Hagerstown Speedway.

Lear, who has 10 overall wins this season, dominated the second half of the race to earn the big $2,000 payday, just two weeks after claiming his first career track title. Lear won over Pete Weaver, Ashley Barrett, Scott Palmer and Glenn Elliott.

Hans Stamberg won the $2,000 check in his eighth win in Pure Stock action over Mike Warrenfeltz, Mike Corbin, David Kaiser and Harrionsville's Tony Daniels, while Greg Gunter won the 4-cylinder event over Tommy Whitt Jr., John Stoll Jr., Billy Sonner Jr. and Chris Semple. Kenny Thomas won the first annual Derek Riley Enduro Championship over Matt Smith and Larry Hurley Jr.

Adam Wilt won his second career 410 Sprint car feature Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway over Fred Rahmer, Greg Hodnett, Cody Darrah and Brent Marks, while Scott Geesey scored his first 358 Sprint car win at the track over Cory Haas, Nate Hammaker, Kyle Moody and Blane Heimbach.

Kevin Nouse won the URC Sprint car main Saturday at Bedford Speedway over JJ Grasso, Josh Weller, Jimmy Stitzel and Becca Anderson.

Bedford Late Model champ Jack Pencil dropped a 358 motor in his car and won the special Limited Late Model feature over Justin Kann, Daniel Cornman, Travis Stickley and Dave Leidy.

Jeff Rohrbaugh won Friday's 358 Sprint car championship event at Trail-Way Speedway over Dale Hammaker, Brad Mc- Clelland, 2009 track champion Bill Dietrich and Phil Walter.

Gene Knaub won Saturday's 358 Late Model feature at Susquehanna Speedway Park over Charles Potts, John Moser Jr., Steve Billet and Alex Updegraff as Jake Jones captured the 2009 track championship.

Bart Hartman earned $30,000 for his Saturday night sweep of "The Ultimate vs. The Pittsburgher" for super Late Models at Pennsylvania's Pittsburgh Motor Speedway.

Hartman, who won $42,000 last weekend at Eldora, won the 51 lap Pittsburger over Austin Hubbard, Jason Covert, Jared Miley and Matt Lux and then came back to win the 51-lap "Ultimate 15" over Covert, Keith Barbara, Hubbard and Lux. Tyler Hershey had finishes of 17th and 16th in the two races.

E-mail reaches me at bvores@aol.com.

Return to top