2009-08-13 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

McConnellsburg's Marvin Winters ended a long dry spell with his first Late Model win of the season Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway. Winters' last win came back in July 2006. He took the lead on lap 14 and never looked back in the win over Brian Booze, Al Shawver Jr., JT Spence and Frankie Plessinger. Tyler Hershey was eighth and Cory Houck 16th.

It was Winters' 22nd career Hagerstown win and his first for car-owner Tex Shaffer since the 1997 season.

Ashley Barrett won for the fourth time in Late Model Sportsman action over Kyle Lear, Scott Palmer, Doug Timmons and Derrick Quade.

Hans Stamberg won the Pure Stock feature over Mike Warrenfeltz and Wayne Hawbaker, Charlie Pensinger and Billy Ecton.

At the age of 59, Keith Kauffman proved he can still get the job done as he captured his first win of the season Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway.

The win came aboard the Mike Heffner Racing-owned, Lelands. com No. 27, as Kauffman continues to fill in for injured Sean Michael, the main driver of the car.

The win was satisfying for the all- time-winningest driver at Port Royal as he beat his former ride, now driven by Chad Layto, to the checkered flag.

Layton, Greg Hodnett, Todd Shaffer and Rick Lafferty were the top five, with Mike Wagner sixth and Joey Hershey eighth.

Todd Snook captured his first career Late Model win over Scott Flickinger, Bryan Sipe, Jere Wierman and Jason Miller.

Doug Esh scored an unpopular first 410 Sprint car win of the season Friday at Williams Grove and was greeted with a chorus of boos.

Esh made contact with racelong leader Adam Wilt on Lap 22 resulting in Wilt launching over the guardrail. Esh won over Brent Marks, Pat Cannon, Mark Smith and Steve Buckwalter.

Robbie Stillwaggon was the URC Sprint car winner at the Grove over JJ Grasso, Curt Michael, Josh Weller and Kramer Williamson.

Grasso came back for his fifth URC win of the season Saturday at Bridgeport Speedway over Becca Anderson, Davey Sammons, Stillwaggon and Justin Collett.

Phoenixville's Brian Montieth won for the sixth time in 410 Sprint car action Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. Montieth's latest win came in the 30-lap Weldon Sterner Memorial and was worth $4,000 to the Jerry Parrishowned team. He also regained the Lincoln points lead with his win.

Montieth took the lead on Lap 25 and won over Brian Leppo, Alan Krimes, Cris Eash and Josh Wells.

Brad McClelland won his second 20-lap 358 Sprint car feature of the season over Matt Boland, Mike Bittinger, Dale Hammaker and Adrian Shaffer. The race was the final leg of the Lincoln-Trail- Way Shootout.

Mike Bittinger won the Friday night 358 Sprint car main at Trail-Way Speedway, and with his third- place finish at Lincoln, Bittinger won the 2009 Lincoln/Trail- Way 358 Sprint Shootout.

Bittinger's Trail-Way win came over Jeff Rohrbaugh, Billy Dietrich, Dale Hammaker and Tim Wagaman.

Williams Grove Speedway was rained out Saturday night after persistent drizzle never let up, forcing the track to cancel. Several schedule changes are in the works at the Grove for the Saturday night series as the Twin 20s for Sportsman will be made up at the end of October.

Selinsgrove Speedway was also rained out on Saturday night.

Terry McCarl had a big night at Knoxville Raceway on Saturday, winning his third career 360 Nationals championship along with the track's regular 410 Sprint car feature. McCarl earned $10,000 in his 360 Nationals win over Wayne Johnson, Billy Alley, Jason Johnson and Brian Brown. Red Lion's Cody Darrah was on hand at Knoxville, where he set fast times during time trials and had worked his way up to fifth in the feature before handling problems faded him back to the 10th finishing spot.

That's a wrap on this week as we are enjoying a great week of relaxation in Myrtle Beach, S.C. Don't forget to tune into the Knoxville Nationals on the SPEED channel Saturday night at 10 p.m.

Return to top