2009-06-18 / Entertainment

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The All Star Circuit of Champions invaded central Pennsylvania over the weekend as the Posse continued its dominance over the travelers with wins at Williams Grove and Lincoln speedways.

Cody Darrah won an impressive event Friday night at the Grove, holding off Todd Shaffer over the final 10 laps for his first win of the season. Shaffer, Greg Hodnett, Tim Shaffer and Alan Krimes were the top-five finishers.

Brian Montieth won a thriller at Lincoln on Saturday night after the track endured a long rain delay. Montieth and Darrah traded the top spot several times during the final five laps, with Montieth divng under Darrah coming off the fourth turn for the exciting win. Darrah was second over Jim Siegel, Alan Krimes and Tim Shaffer.

The first annual Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek came to an exciting end on Friday night at Bedford Speedway, where Josh Richards won the battle and the war with an exciting last lap pass.

Despite missing the opening night race of the first annual Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek, the World of Outlaws regular captured the crown for the series with a win, his second of the week.

Richards used a final lap pass for the win at Bedford, which also was good enough to secure the points title by one point over Jeremy Miller for the weeklong series.

Richards defeated Rick Eckert, Jason Covert, DJ Myers and Austin Hubbard on the track while the final points were Richard (637), Miller(636), Hubbard (609), Covert (586) and Myers (550).

Tim Smith Jr. won the 358 Late Model main at Bedford over Derek Byler, Daniel Cornman, Mike Duck and Travis Stickley.

In Late Model Speedweek races last week, Richards won Monday at Winchester Speedway over Steve Francis, Gary Stuhler, Ronnie DeHaven and Jeremy Miller.

Francis scored the Tuesday night win at Williams Grove over Eckert, Richards, Myers and Daryl Hills, while racing Wednesday at Lincoln and Thursday at Port Royal was rained out.

For the second time in three weeks, Pat Cannon rolled to victory at Selinsgrove Speedway. Cannon won the 25-lap 358 Sprint car feature over Blane Heimbach Matt Horst, Matt Heimbach and Phil Walter.

Brett Schadel notched his second career win in the 25-lap Late Model feature over Tony Adams, points leader Jeff Rine, Steve Campbell and Eric Hons.

Selinsgrove's Mark Smith finally ended a winless streak Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway with his first win of the season in the 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature at the track over Daryl Stimeling, Greg Hodnett, Chad Layton and Harrisonville's Mike Wagner. The race went nonstop.

After a dismal performance during Late Model Speedweek, Scott Haus was back at home with another Late Model win at the Port. Haus scored his fifth track win over Chris Casner, Bryan Sipe, Scott Flickinger and Jason Miller, with Tim Fedder 11th.

Enola's Jason Fry won his first Super Sportsman Tour feature of the season and first for car-owner Mike Callahan. Fry won over Eric Eckert, Mike Enders, David Socks and Jay Fannasy.

Selinsgrove's Jim Yoder captured his second career Late Model feature win Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway.

After winning for the first-ever time at the track last March, Yoder went winless until Saturday night when he turned in an impressive effort for a near twosecond margin of victory.

Frankie Plessinger tried to win the race for his father Frank, who suffered a heart attack while working at the track Saturday. Plessinger, who owns the track, is in a Baltimore area hospital. His son finished second in the event over Roy Deese Jr., Andy Anderson and Mike Lupfer. Marvin Winters was sixth and Brent Smith seventh in his first race in nearly a year.

Wayne Walls Jr. topped Late Model sportsman action with his first win of the season over Ashley Barrett, Andy Fries, Bruce Kane and Kyle Lear.

Kenny Dillon was the Pure Stock winner over Kevin Keefer, Darrin Younker, Bobby Franklin and Dave Mikolajski, while Krazy Kenny Thomas won the Enduro.

Brad McClelland won Friday's 358 Sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway over Logan Schuchart, Dale Hammaker, Joe Trone Jr. and Nick Palmerino.

Carl Graves became the eighth different winner in as many races in 358 Late Model action at Susquehanna Speedway Park. He won over Steve Bailor, Gene Knaub, Steve Billet and Alex Updegraff.

The PASS 305 Sprints were at Clinton County Speedway on Friday night, where Tyler Bear took the win over Mark Watkins and Logan Wagner.

That should be a wrap on another busy weekend of racing as we begin to wind down the month of June. Pennsylvania Speedweek for the 410 Sprints is just a week away. So until next time, email reaches me at Bvores@aol.com.

Return to top