2009-06-11 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

With a strong field of 65 Late Models signed in for Saturday's opening night of the Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek at Hagerstown Speedway, Jason Covert dominated the 40- lap event to take home the big $5,000 check.

Covert, of York Haven, started fourth in the lineup and raced by both Al Shawver Jr. and JT Spence on lap four to take control and then was never challenged in his third win of the year at the Hub City oval in the Barry Klinedinst No. 43A Rocket.

Covert will be looking to bring home the title in the first-ever Speedweek series that will invad Selinsgrove Sunday night followed by races Monday in Winchester, Va., Tuesday at Williams Grove, Wednesday at Lincoln, Thursday at Port Royal and Friday at Bedford.

DJ Myers finished in the runner up spot over Jeremy Miller, young Austin Hubbard, Tommy Armel, Jamie Lathroum, Ronnie DeHaven Jr., Frankie Plessinger, Nick Dickson and Mike Lupfer. Tyler Hershey was 27th.

Hans Stamberg won the pure stock feature over Dave Stouffer, Kenny Dillon, Wayne Hawbaker and Dave Mikolajski.

Late Model Speedweek invaded Selinsgrove Speedway on Sunday, where it was Jeremy Miller winning for the first time this season with his new ride. Miller scored the $5,000 win over Jeff Rine, Coleby Frye, Robby Blair and Nick Dickson.

Johnny Mackison Jr. ended a nine year dry spell with an upset win Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway in the 25-lap 410 Sprint car main.

Mackison took the lead on lap seven and held off Brian Montieth for his first win since September 2000. Montieth, Jim Siegel, Danny Dietrich and Niki Young were the top-five finishers.

Kyle Moody won a career-first 358 Sprint car main at Lincoln over Austin Reed, Eric Tomecek, Bill Dietrich and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

For the fourth time in three weeks, Greg Hodnett parked the J & S Fabrication sprinter in victory lane at an area speedway. Hodnett's latest win came in Saturday's 30-lap Pete Swarmer Memorial at Port Royal Speedway and his second there this season.

Chad Layton piloted the Middleswarth sprinter from 12th to second over Mike Erdley, Todd Shaffer and Rick Lafferty. Mike Wagner was 18th. Layton replaces Keith Kauffman as the new driver for the Middleswarth team.

No one thought that Chad Criswell would be the first repeat winner on the Super Sportsman tour this season. Criswell, a rookie in the division, became the first repeat winner this year with a win in the Saturday Night Series at Williams Grove Speedway. His first win came at Trail-Way Speedway earlier this season.

Criswell took the win over Gregg Foster, points leader Carmen Perigo Jr., Frankie Herr and Stan Wanner.

Gene Knaub won for the first time this season in 358 Late Model action at the Grove, taking the 20-lap feature win over Mike Walls, Charlie Schaffer, Bernie Beard and Michael Collins.

URC's Trevor Lewis collected the big $3,500 paycheck after wining a thrilling Jack Gunn Memorial URC/358 Sprint Challenge Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Lewis beat Pat Cannon by a half-car length at the checkered flag after the two exchanged the lead over the final five laps before Lewis used traffic to his advantage, exiting the fourth turn for the checkered flag. The win was the first of the year for Lewis, and it came over Cannon, Blane Heimbach, Rory Janney and track points leader Nate Snyder. Fiftyfour cars signed in for competition.

Gary Potts became the seventh different winner in as many events in Saturday night 358 Late Model action at Susquehanna Speedway Park, winning over Kyle Saylor, Bud Witmer, Carl Graves and Justin Ehrhart.

Williams Grove, Trail-Way, Path Valley and Bedford speedways all lost Friday night racing due to rain. Trail-Way also canceled its Saturday night Micro Sprint car program because of rain.

Several members of the PA Posse invaded Lernerville Speedway Friday night for the all-star event that was won by Tim Shaffer. Greg Hodnett was second, Fred Rahmer fourth and Mark Smith fifth.

Jimmy Owens pocketed the big $100,000 payday in his win Saturday night in the Dream Late Model event at Eldora Speedway winning over Scott ,Bloomquist, Darrell Lanigan, Jimmy Mars and Brian Birkhofer.

That's it for another week as the All-Star sprints return to the area this weekend with races at Williams Grove, Lincoln and Central PA Speedway on Sunday. So until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@aol.com.

Return to top