2009-06-11 / Local & State

McConnellsburg Awards Scholarships To Grads

Scholarships presented at June 4 ceremony

Justin Gordon Justin Gordon Sixty-four members of the Class of 2009 walked down the aisle of commencement services held at McConnellsburg High School last Thursday evening and many of those same graduates departed with multiple scholarships in hand to further their education.

Justin Gordon snagged a total of eight scholarships and special awards, including the distinguished graduate award; a $3,000 Sam Walton Scholarship; $1,000 scholarships from Chester J. Creager Memorial and Marion Hess Sprenkle; a $150 Beta Sigma Phi Scholarship; a VFW Award of Citizenship from VFW Post 655 Mc- Connellsburg in the amount of $500; the Helen L. McLaughlin Scholarship totalling $2,145; and a $200 Builders Association Scholarship for his work in drafting and design.

Classmate Devon Cunningham took home a $250 Robert E. Swadley Scholarship as well as a PA Association of Retirees Scholarship in the amount of $400. Devon Cunningham was also awarded a $500 scholarship from Allegany College of Maryland.

Nicole Price was also awarded a $250 Robert E. Swadley Scholarship and a $500 scholarship from the Central Fulton Education Association.

Devon Cunningham Devon Cunningham Ethan Cunningham along with classmates Sara Hoffman and Jonny Joe Wible each received a $1,125 scholarship from the newly created Clair and Dorothy Miller Foundation. Ethan Cunningham was also the recipient of a $100 Builders Association Scholarship for his participation in drafting and design. Meanwhile, Hoffman took home a $1,500 scholarship from Fulton County Medical Center, and Wible was given an additional $100 from the Builders Association.

Jordan Bohrer was the second recipient of the distinguished graduate award and also received $500 in scholarship funding from the Mc- Connellsburg Woman's Club. Marcy Bishop took home $100 through the Woman's Club Special Award, and Jeanette Pittman was given the Milk Promoters Scholarship in the amount of $250.

In addition, Colin Ramsey, building trades student, took top honors receiving the largest scholarship from the Builders Association in the amount of $200. Michelle Baker wrapped up the evening with an $800 scholarship from C. Owen Fries and along with fellow athletes Devon Petty- John, Jacquelyn DeShong, Courtney Mc- Clure and Megan Eichelberger was presented with a Senior Athletic Award. Petty- John and Ulisha Robinson finished as recipients of the Striving To Educate People Scholarship.

Nicole Price Nicole Price Ethan Cunningham Ethan Cunningham Jordan Bohrer Jordan Bohrer Sarah Hoffman Sarah Hoffman Jonny Joe Wible Jonny Joe Wible Marcy Bishop Marcy Bishop Jeanette Pittman Jeanette Pittman Michelle Baker Michelle Baker

Return to top