2009-06-04 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Steve Francis won his fourth World of Outlaws Late Model main of the season in Saturday's Conococheague 50-lapper at Hagerstown Speedway.

Francis led all the way in the big win over Darrell Lanigan, Rick Eckert, Shane Clanton and Austin Hubbard. Francis lost Thursday's WoO Late Model main at Delaware International Speedway on the final lap when he suffered a flat tire. Completing the top 10 were Keith Jackson, Jason Covert, Tim Fuller, Brady Smith and Andy Anderson. Frankie Plessinger came from 25th to finish 11th.

Shippensburg's Ashley Barrett finally had some luck on his side as he won the Late Model Sportsman feature in a flag-toflag effort.

Just a week after destroying a car, Barrett scored his first win of the year over Wayne Walls Jr., Pete Weaver, Steve Kent and Glenn Elliott.

Greg Hodnett raced to an impressive victory in Friday night 410 Sprint car action at Williams Grove Speedway. The win was the second in three weeks at the track and third overall in the past two weeks. He defeated Dave Ely, Rick Lafferty, Mike Erdley and Chad Layton.

Frankie Herr won the 358 Sprint car feature at the Grove over Blane Heimbach, Cory Haas, Scott Geesey and Pat Cannon.

Lance Dewease won from the front row Saturday night in Port Royal Speedway 410 Sprint car action over Mark Smith, Daryn Pittman, Greg Hodnett and Mike Erdley, while Mike Wagner piloted the Middleswarth sprinter and finished 18th after being involved in a crash.

Waylon Wagner made it two straight in Late Model action over Scott Flickinger, Tim Wilson, Scott Haus and Mitch Hack, with Hershey seventh. Tim Fedder was 21st.

It didn't take Pat Cannon long to get back into victory lane.

After being released from the Keen Motorsports 410 Sprint car team last week after just over three months in the car, Cannon, of Etters, returned to the wheel of the Zane and Vicki Highlandsowned No. 3 and drove to victory Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. Following Cannon to his first win of the year was track points leader Nate Snyder, Scott Flammer, Jeff Furlong and TJ Stutts.

Jeff Rine continued his domination over the Late Model division at the track with his sixth win of the year in the 25-lap event as he took control early and never looked back, taking the win over Donnie Schick, Tony Adams, Dylan Yoder and Eric Hons.

For the second straight week, Cody Darrah drove to an impressive victory at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday night. Starting back in the 10th position, the 19-year old Red Lion driver drove to the front to take the lead on lap 12 and never looked back in his fifth career Lincoln win and his second straight after last Saturday's Keystone Cup win at the track.

Rookie drivers Danny Dietrich and Brent Marks finished second and third, with Bill Stine getting a career-best fourth-place finish over Alan Krimes.

Dale Hammaker won for the first time this season in the 20-lap 358 Sprint car feature over Jason Clauss, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Tim Wagaman and Kyle Moody.

For the second time this season, JJ Grasso raced to the win on the URC tour Saturday at Delaware International Speedway. Grasso took the lead on lap 10 and drove off for the win in the Palladino Motorsports machine over Rory Janney, Kramer Williamson, Nick Schlauch Jr. and Mark Bitner.

Trail-Way was rained out Friday night after late afternoon thunderstorms hit the Hanover oval.

Steve Everhart picked up his first Late Model win of the year Friday at Bedford Speedway over DJ Myers, Scott Haus, Jack Pencil and Alan Sagi. Tyler Hershey had an eighth-place finish.

Brian Lesley scored the Limited Late Model win at Bedford over Mike Duck, Rick Singleton, Daniel Cornman and Mike Shoemaker. Steve Bard finished ninth.

Dylan Cisney won Saturday's Super Sportsman feature at Williams Grove Speedway over Mike Enders, Scott Dellinger, Carmen Perigo Jr. and Ryan Rupp.

McConnellsburg's Mark Watkins led flag to flag to win the PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint car event over Todd Spangler, Rod Ort, Nathan Gramely and Randy Kaylor. Michael Wagner finished 15th, and Logan Wagner was disqualified.

Bobby Beard made it three wins on the year in Grove 358 Late Model action over Jake Lettich, Travis Mease, Roy Miller and DJ Mease.

Jamie Lathroum won the World of Outlaws Late Model feature Thursday at Delaware International Speedway over Brady Smith, Steve Francis, Tim Fuller and Darryl Hills.

That's it for this week as the first annual Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek is set to begin this coming weekend, kicking off June 6 at Hagerstown Speedway, followed by Sunday at Selinsgrove, Monday at Winchester, Tuesday at Williams Grove, Wednesday at Lincoln, Thursday at Port Royal and Friday night at Bedford. It should be a good week of Late Model racing.

E-mail reaches me at Bvores@aol.com.

Return to top