2009-05-28 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

The third annual Keystone Cup Sprint series was center stage over the weekend for the 410 Sprint cars as Stevie Smith had a great week to capture his first-ever Keystone Cup points championship. Smith ended a two-year reign by Fred Rahmer as series champion.

The Keystone Cup kicked off last Wednesday at Grandview Speedway, where Daryn Pittman won for the first time this season over Stevie Smith, Greg Hodnett, Doug Esh and Brooke Tatnell.

Hagerstown Speedway was next up on the KC schedule with a Thursday night show as Stevie Smith won a barnburner after taking the lead from Fred Rahmer with two laps to go to score the win ahead of Rahmer, Cody Darrah, Daryn Pittman and Todd Shaffer.

Stevie Smith came back for his second straight win in the series by destroying the field at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night. Smith jetted into the lead on lap two and drove off for the win over Doug Esh, Mark Smith, Fred Rahmer and Brian Montieth.

Cody Darrah notched his first win of the season in Saturday's Keystone Cup event at Lincoln Speedway after a daring move on lap 10. Darrah took the win over Stevie Smith, Alan Krimes, Doug Esh and Fred Rahmer.

Sunday night's KC event at Selinsgrove Speedway was rained out when bad storms hit the track just after gates opened.

Port Royal Speedway brought the curtain down on the KC as Greg Hodnett led all 30 laps in the nonstop event on the dusty oval. Mark Smith finished second over Stevie Smith, Alan Cole and Mike Erdley. Mike Wagner finished 19th.

Smith had 817 points for the week to win the title over Mark Smith (587), Cody Darrah (574), Doug Esh (563) and Fred Rahmer (556).

Brian Montieth won the makeup 410 Sprint car feature at Lincoln on Saturday. The event was rained out the week before. He won over Rahmer, Darrah, Brent Marks and Esh.

York Haven's Jason Covert became the first repeat winner in Late Model action this season at Hagerstown Speedway with his win in Saturday's Three State Flyers Late Model series event.

Covert's second straight Three State Flyers win at Hagerstown came in the Richard Bonebrake Tribute event, defeating Jeremy Miller by nearly two seconds.

Tommy Armel raced home third ahead of DJ Myers, Jim Yoder, Nick Dickson, Andy Anderson, Darryl Hills, Gary Stuhler and Mike Lupfer. Marvin Winters finished 12th, while Frankie Plessinger did not make the feature.

Kenny Dillon won the Pure Stock feature over Mike Warrenfeltz, Bobby Franklin, Danny Beavers and Darrin Younker while Mark Vegh won the Enduro Dash over Krazy Kenny Thomas and Larry Hurley Jr.

Pete Weaver won the Thursday night Late Model Sportsman feature at Hagerstown over Kyle Lear, Charlie Schaffer, Robby Beall and Andy Fries.

Joey Borich ended a two year dry spell after driving to the win in the 25-lap 358 Sprint car feature Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway after taking the lead on lap seven and scoring the win over Matt Heimbach, TJ Stutts, Jeff Furlong and Mike Walter.

Jeff Rine came from the 12th starting spot to take the win in the 25-lap Late Model feature. The win marked the fifth of the season for the Danville driver over Eric Hons, Tony Adams, Steve Campbell and Brett Schadel.

Steve Bailor's first career win in Saturday's 40-lap 55th anniversary event for 358 Late Models made him the track's sixth different winner in as many events this season. Bailor took command on lap six and never looked back in earning the $1,500 payday, winning over Kyle Sailor, Jake Jones, Cam Zeigler and Chase Billet.

Jordan Frontz picked up the 358 Sprint car feature win Saturday at Port Royal Speedway.

Frontz took the lead on lap 17 and drove to the win over Austin Reed, Jason Clauss, Keith Prutzman and Brie Hershey.

McConnellsburg's Mark Watkins topped PASS 305 Sprint car action at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, winning over Logan Wagner, Wes Zimmerman, Todd Spangler and Roger Irvine. Michael Wagner was leading on lap 17 when he tangled with a lapped car sending his car hard into the fourth turn tire barrier. Fortunately, he was not injured.

Waylon Wagner won for the first time this season in Port Late Model action, scoring the win over Tim Gray, Scott Flickinger, Mike Hess and Tim Wilson. Tim Fedder was eighth, and Tyler Hershey finished 11th.

Paul Miller won the Super Sportsman feature Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway over Aaron Eichelberger, Carmen Perigo Jr., Jason Fry and Bobby Hockenberry.

Bobby Beard won for the second time in 358 Late Model action over Jake Lettich, Bernie Beard, Mike Walls and Gene Knaub, while Glenndon Forsythe picked up the 358 Sprint car win over Scott Geesey, Frankie Herr, Eric Tomecek and Kyle Moody.

Jack Pencil scored the Three State Flyers Late Model series win on Sunday night at Bedford Speedway over Jeff Rine, Mike Altobelli Jr., Steve Everhart and Dylan Yoder. Frankie Plessinger finished seventh, Tyler Herhsey 17th and Marvin Winters 25th.

Aaron Eichelberger was the Sportsman Tour winner at Bedford over Frankie Herr, Bobby Hockenberry, Dylan Cisney and Carmen Perigo, Jr.

Jamie Lathroum was the Three State Flyers Late Model winner Friday at Winchester Speedway over Jason Covert, Booper Bare, Jeremy Miller and Gerald Davis. Frankie Plessinger was 20th and Tyler Hershey 25th.

Curt Michael raced to his first win of the year in URC Sprint action Saturday at Bridgeport (N.J.) Speedway. Michael's win came over Becca Anderson, 19th starting Michael Carber, Davey Sammons and Chris Coyle.

That's a wrap on quite a busy Memorial Day racing weekend. Don't forget the first annual Appalachian Mountain Late Model Speedweek is just around the corner. The series will kick off at Hagerstown on June 6 followed by consecutive nights at Selinsgrove, Winchester, Williams Grove, Lincoln, Port Royal and ending at Bedford on June 12.

Until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@aol.com.

Return to top