2009-05-21 / Local & State

County Flag Committee Appointed

Commissioners adopt resolution regarding "PA Hero Walk"
By Chanin Rotz-Mountz STAFF WRITER

Annual appointments were recently made by the Fulton County commissioners naming a handful of local residents to serve as members of the Fulton County Flag Committee for 2009.

Among those selected last Tuesday for the committee were Robert C. Snyder and John C. Duffey for Ayr Township and McConnellsburg Borough; Ray E. Miller, Belfast Township; Paul Iden, Bethel Township; Donald M. Fischer Jr., Brush Creek; Ralph Brown, Dublin; Donald E. Eisaman, Licking Creek; Clair P. Traxler, Taylor; Basil E. Pittman, Thompson Township; Donald Divens, Todd; Homer Stahle, Union; and Leslie "Jim" Sweger of Wells Township.

The group was thanked by the commissioners for placing the flags and markers on the grave of county veterans.

As a follow-up this week, the commissioners on Monday adopted a resolution designed to honor the sacrifices made by our men and women in the United States Armed Forces and thank those veterans who most recently served in Iraq and Afghanistan. Entitled Wounded Warrior Project "PA Hero Walk," the resolution touches on an event that will kick off on June 20 in Philadelphia to honor Gen. John Forbes, who blazed the Forbes Trail. Stops during the "PA Hero Walk" will include Chambersburg, McConnellsburg and Everett.

The purpose of the walk is to "demonstrate the determination of our Wounded Warriors, bringing awareness of their needs to the commonwealth and raise funding for the project through walker pledges and donations."

A resolution was also adopted appointing the Fulton County Chamber of Commerce & Tourism as authorized agency to apply for and receive grants from the state under Act 111 of 1961. The resolution will remain in effect until May 11, 2010, or until rescinded or replaced by a new resolution.

Revisions were made to the $229,746 funding allocation request through the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program for 2009. The application to be submitted to the Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED) will include $20,000 for renovations at the Wells Tannery Community Center; $50,000 for upgrades to handicapped accessibility and HVAC at the Fulton County Food Basket; handicapped accessibility upgrades at the Hustontown Joint Sewage Authority in the amount of $30,200; $88,246 toward the construction of a wastewater treatment facility and collection system in the village of Needmore; and $41,300 for program administration.

The commissioners spoke via conference call with gypsy moth coordinator Earle Yearsley, who reported spraying through the residential spray program got under way on Tuesday, May 12. In county, a total of 64 blocks or parcels totalling 1,364 acres were set to be sprayed.

Following a discussion with Services for Children Director Kelly Ford, the commissioners appointed Stephanie Branche to the position of county casework supervisor. Branche's appointment began retroactive May 11.

Deputy Sheriff Tammy Shank was granted authorization to utilize the state Justice Network (JNET) system.

Final payment in the amount of $6,777.40 was approved for Southern Contractors, which completed an addition at the Warfordsburg Senior Citizen Center. A change order was also signed at no additional cost from Rodney B. Smith Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Inc. in conjunction with renovations at the Fulton County Library.

The Mental Health Plan for both Franklin and Fulton counties was accepted for the year 2010-11 by the commissioners. Human Service Development Fund allocations for 2009-10 were approved as follows: $17,500 for the Area Agency on Aging; $8,000 for the Fulton County Partnership; $12,716 for Fulton County Human Services; $8,000, Franklin/Fulton Drug and Alcohol; and $5,135 for administration costs.

Return to top