2009-05-14 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Todd Shaffer made it three wins in five starts Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway.

Shaffer's latest win came in the All-Star Sprint car feature and came after a spirited battle with Lance Dewease for the first 15 laps. Dewease, Greg Hodnett, Brian Montieth and Chad Layton were the top- five finishers.

Kyle Moody won a career-first 358 Sprint car main Friday at Williams Grove over Aaron Ott, Amy Ott, Scott Geesey and Elvin Diller III.

Stevie Smith raced by leader Todd Shaffer on lap 14 and drove to the win in Saturday night's 25- lap O'Reilly All-Star Sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway.

Smith started fourth in the 24-car field and did something few have been able to do this season and drive by Shaffer, a sixtime feature winner in 2009. Smith's win was his second All Star win this season but his first win in Central PA aboard the John and Peewee Zemaitisowned machine.

Shaffer, Mike Erdley, Alan Cole and Lance Dewease were the top five finishers. Harrisonville's Mike Wagner finished seventh.

Smith came back to make it two straight at the Port with a Sunday night All Star win in the Bob Weikert Memorial. Smith started on the pole and won the snoozer of a race over Dale Blaney, Alan Cole, Kevin Nouse and Mike Erdley. Wagner set fast time and finished seventh.

No one would have ever thought that the first John Trone-owned car to reach victory lane this season would be driven by the rookie driver in his stable.

But Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway, 20-year-old Tim Glatfelter piloted the Trone Motorsports No. 39T to victory for the first time in his career to become the seventh different winner this season in the Pigeon Hills.

Glatfelter, of Spring Grove, is a graduate of the Micro Sprint ranks and is concentrating on weekly shows at Lincoln. Trone's main driver, Doug Esh, was involved in a first lap crash and scored 24th.

Johnny Mackison Jr. finished second over Cris Eash, 15th starting Brian Montieth and Alan Krimes.

Brad McClelland won for the first time this season in 358 Sprint car action at Lincoln, taking the win over Gerard McIntrye Jr., Scott Geesey, Tim Wagaman and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Mike Slaybaugh won the Thunder Car main over Kyle Martin, Mikey Guise, Sam Gallagher and Danny Beard.

Phil Walter became the second repeat winner in 358 Sprint car competition at Selinsgrove Speedway in winning over Nate Snyder, TJ Stutts, Matt Heimbach and Blane Heimbach.

Jeff Rine captured his 50th career Late Model win at the Snyder County track with his fourth win of the season. He outran Jim Yoder, Dylan Yoder, Tony Adams and Steve Campbell for the win.

It didn't take long for Chad Criswell to reach victory lane in a Super Sportsman. In just his sixth race behind the wheel of the Danny Miller-owned machine, Criswell scored the win in Saturday night's Sportsman tour event at Trail-Way Speedway.

Doug Hendricks, Jason Fry, Phil Griffiths and Dylan Cisney were the top five finishers.

Bobby Beard raced to the 358 Late Model feature win at Trail- Way over Chaz Walls, Pancho Lawler, Robbie Garlock and Charlie Schaffer.

Bud Witmer became the fifth winner in as many races as he topped the field in Saturday's 358 Late Model feature at Susquehanna Speedway Park, winning over Cam Zeigler, Gene Knaub, Chase Billet and Craig Wagaman.

The World of Outlaw sprints invade Williams Grove this week for Thursday and Friday shows. Then next week, the annual Keystone Cup Sprint Series is taking place with racing beginning Wednesday, May 20, at Grandview followed by racing Thursday at Hagerstown, Friday at the Grove, Saturday at Lincoln, Sunday at Selinsgrove and Monday at Port Royal.

Until next time, e-mail reaches me at bvores@aol.com.

Return to top