2009-05-14 / Front Page

Voters To Pick Judicial Candidates Next Tuesday

Municipal primary election set for May 19
By Chanin Rotz-Mountz STAFF WRITER

After making personal appearances at various political functions and going door-todoor boasting their qualifications and merits, four Franklin County-based attorneys will have their day at the polls Tuesday when registered voters from both Fulton and Franklin counties will nominate two Democratic and Republican candidates for two vacancies in the Court of Common Pleas.

All four candidates are registered Republicans but have cross-filed to have themselves listed on the Democratic ballot for the May 19 municipal primary. Candidates include Angela Rosenberry Krom, a fulltime assistant district attorney with Franklin County; Shawn Meyers, a partner with the Mercersburg law firm of Steiger, Steiger & Meyers; Eric J. Weisbrod, a private practice attorney from Waynesboro; and Timothy D. Wilmot, a divorce hearing master for the 39th Judicial District.

Each party in turn will nominate two of the four candidates for the November 3 election. The vacancies in the 39th Judicial District of the Court of Common Pleas arose as a result of the retirement of President Judge John R. Walker and the creation of a fifth judgeship by the state Legislature.

Additional judicial positions are also being filled for justice of the Supreme Court, judge of the Superior Court and judge of the Commonwealth Court. Furthermore, Magisterial District Judge Wendy Richards Mellott of Mc- Connellsburg is running unopposed on both tickets in hopes of being elected for an another term of office.

On a county level, incumbent Prothonotary Patty Suders Fix will be facing off Tuesday against political newcomer Lisa Mellott Skiles for the Republican nomination. Meanwhile, Democratic candidate for prothonotary, Brandon L. Fletcher, is running unopposed.

Other contested positions include the school director's race in both the Central Fulton and Southern Fulton school districts as well as a battle on both the Republican and Democratic tickets for the position of Ayr Township tax collector, held by Arlene Nesbitt for well over 40 years. Among those vying to re- ceive their party's lone nomination for the tax collector's seat are Republicans Jennifer L. Knepper, Anne M. Seville, Inga J. Smith and Democrats Kim Fisher and Julie A. Shearer.

Polling places in Fulton County this spring include the Wells Tannery Community Building (Wells), Valley-Hi Lodge (Valley- Hi Boro), Green Hill Sewing Club (Licking Creek), Emmaville Election House (Brush Creek), Warfordsburg Senior Center (Bethel), Center Schoolhouse (Union and Thompson), Needmore Firehall (Belfast), municipal buildings (Ayr and Todd), McConnellsburg Firehall (Mc- Connellsburg Boro), Hustontown Senior Center (Dublin) and the Old Election House (Taylor). Polling places will be open locally from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Sample ballots for each township can be obtained through the commissioners office or online at www.fultoncntypa.org.

The 2009 general primary election notice can be found in this week's edition of the "News."

Return to top