2009-04-23 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

After three top-five finishes in the first four events this season at Hagerstown Speedway, Big Cove Tannery's Frankie Plessinger was due for a win. Plessinger got that win Saturday night at the track in a dominating performance after taking the top spot on lap 10.

Plessinger defeated Roy Deese Jr., Jim Yoder, Andy Anderson and Marvin Winters.

Kyle Lear drove by his brother, Cody, on the final lap to win the Late Model sportsman feature over Wayne Walls Jr., Cody Lear, Bruce Kane and Jerry Bard with Cory Houck ninth.

Hans Stamberg was the Pure Stock winner over Mike Warrenfeltz and Wayne Hawbaker.

It was a dominating weekend for Lance Dewease as he picked up a win Friday at Williams Grove Speedway and again Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Friday's Grove win came nearly 12 seconds ahead of Fred Rahmer, Brian Leppo, Dave Ely and Mike Erdley.

At Lincoln, Dewease went out front on lap 16 and won by two seconds over Rahmer, Doug Esh, Danny Dietrich and Scott Geesey.

Chad Criswell was the 358 Sprint car winner Friday at Williams Grove over Kevin Nouse, Billy Johns, Cory Haas and Blane Heimbach.

The PA Sprint Series 305 Sprinters were at Lincoln where McConnellsburg's Mark Watkins led all 20 laps for his second career win at Lincoln. He won over Rod Ort and Todd Spangler with Logan Wagner 21st.

Dave Ely put some bad luck behind him Saturday at Port Royal Speedway where he won the 410 Sprint car feature over Todd Shaffer, Keith Kauffman, Cale Grubb and Greg Hodnett with Mike Wagner sixth.

Scott Haus won his third Late Model main at the Port over Chris Casner, Bud Barton, Matt Parks and Gary Beward with Tyler Hershey 16th and Jeff Johnson 17th.

Scott Flammer made it win number two in Selinsgrove Speedway 358 Sprint car action Saturday over Davie Franek, Blane Heimbach, TJ Stutts and Nate Snyder while Jeff Rine was the Late Model feature winner over Tony Adams, Steve Campbell, Jeff Smith and Mike Bingaman.

Jeff Rohrbaugh won Friday's 358 Sprint car main at Trail-Way Speedway over Tim Wagaman, Bill Dietrich, Joe Trone Jr. and Randy Whisler.

Duaine Smith opened the Williams Grove Saturday Night Series with a win in the Super Sportsman feature over Russ Mitten, Jason Fry, Jay Fannasy and David Socks, while Bobby Beard scored the 358 Late Model feature win over Gene Knaub, Derrick Zirkle, Mike Spangler and Travis Mease.

Justin Ehrhart was the 358 Late Model winner at Susquehanna Speedway Saturday over Cam Zeigler, Charles Potts, Chase Billet and Pat Beard.

Just weeks after losing nearly his entire race team in a garage fire, Jack Pencil won the Bedford Speedway Late Model opener on Friday night over DJ Troutman, Steve Everhart, Scott Haus and Bo Feathers. Wayne Johnson finished 16th and Tyler Hershey 21st.

Mike Shoemaker won the Limited Late Model feature over Tim Smith Jr. and Steve Bard.

The World of Outlaws Late Models were at Virginia Motor Speedway on Saturday night, where it was Chris Madden taking the win over Steve Francis, Darrell Lanigan, Ricky Elliott and Jonathon Davenport.

That's a wrap on a busy weekend of racing as Mother Nature was finally kind to all local speedways! Until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@aol.com.

Return to top