2009-04-16 / Local & State

Valley Rural Electric Meeting Set For April 17

Valley Rural Electric Cooperative is set to hold its 2009 annual meeting at 7 p.m. April 17 at Mount Union Area High School.

Member registration will begin at 6 p.m. Slides of the coop's service territory will be shown from 6:30 to 7 p.m.

The meeting will commence with a national anthem presentation dedicated to those deployed with the Pennsylvania Army National Guard's 56th Brigade and for all the soldiers, sailors, airmen and marines serving our country overseas. Following that, Pastor Dan Long of Calvary Independent Baptist Church of Saltillo will offer the invocation.

The order of business will begin with a progress report from Valley REC President and CEO Wayne Miller. His report will include accomplishments and goals of the cooperative as well as information about current electric industry issues. Next, a report from the co-op board of directors will be given by Chairman James Stauffer.

The focus will then shift to the nomination and election of three co-op board members. During open nominating procedures in February, the following candidates were selected: District 2 - incumbent James R. Stauffer of McVeytown, MifflinCounty; District 4 - incumbent Clair E. McCall of Mapleton Depot, Huntingdon County; District 6 - incumbent Leroy Barnes of Portage, Bedford County. The three directors elected at the meeting will represent the entire co-op membership for a three-year term.

The event will conclude with entertainment by musician and storyteller Steve Chapman.

Children can enjoy a bigscreen movie, refreshments and a presentation by Huntingdon County Dairy Princess Heather Miller of McVeytown.

Registered members at the meeting will receive a $15 credit on their electric bill and a bag of energy efficiency products. They will also be eligible to win one of two $250 co-op gift certificates.

Valley REC is a memberowned cooperative that provides electric service to more than 21,000 consumers in eight counties in south-central Pennsylvania, including Bedford, Blair, Centre, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata and Mifflin.

For more information about the annual meeting, contact Susan Penning, director of member services, at 814-643-2650 or 800-432-0680.

Return to top