2009-04-09 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Todd Shaffer continued his early season hot streak by capturing two 25-lap Sprint car features Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway.

Shaffer won the makeup feature that was rained out on March 28 after passing Greg Hodnett on lap 12 in heavy traffic. Hodnett kept it interesting but was unable get back around Shaffer and finished second over Daryn Pittman, Sean Michael and Cliff Brian. Harrisonville's Mike Wagner finished ninth.

In the regular 25-lap event, Shaffer came on during the mid stages of the event to take the lead on lap 16 and drove away for his 91st career Port Royal win. That moves him into a tie with Lance Dewease for second on the all-time list. Steve Buckwalter, Kevin Nouse, Hodnett and Wagner were the top-five finishers.

Scott Haus won the Late Model main over Scott Flickinger, Matt Parks, Bob Dunn and Mike Hess, with Tim Fedder sixth.

Nathan Durboraw was in the right place at the right time Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway and came home with his 72nd career track win in the 25-lap Late Model main.

Andy Anderson's mount came up with problems on lap 12, turning the lead over to Durboraw, who then held off Roy Deese Jr. and Frankie Plessinger for the win. Fourth went to Jim Yoder and fifth to Kirk Ryan. Tyler Hershey finished 19th and Marvin Winters 21st.

Mercersburg's Andy Fries came out with the Late Model sportsman feature over Scott Palmer, Kyle Lear, Cody Lear and Wayne Walls, Jr.

Hans Stamberg won the Pure Stock feature over Dave Stouffer, Dean Holmes, Mike Warrenfeltz and Kevin Keefer, while Krazy Kenny Thomas won the Enduro Dash.

Fred Rahmer was back in victory lane Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway. His 400th career win came two weeks after failing to qualify for the feature event. He dominated the race in his win over Cody Darrah, Scott Geesey, Brian Montieth and Doug Esh.

Russ Mitten won the season opener for the Super Sportsman over Frankie Herr, Ryan Rupp, Duaine Smith and Carmen Perigo Jr.

Gene Knaub came from 16th to win the 358 Late Model feature over Mike Walls, Corey Houck, Jake Lettich and Pat Beard.

Blane Heimbach cruised to his first 358 Sprint car win of the season Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway. Heimbach took the lead on the 23rd lap and held on for his 28th career track win over Dave Calaman, Nate Snyder, Aaron Ott and Davie Franek.

Defending track champion Jeff Rine was back in victory lane in the Late Model feature, taking the win over Steve Campbell, Eric Hons, Bryan Bernheisel and Mike Bingaman.

Nick Dickson won the inaugural Three State Fkyers series race on Saturday night at The Rock, Allegeny County Speedway. Dickson took the $3,000 payday over Jared Miley, Wayne Johnson, Devin Friese and Darryl Hills. Only 10 cars finished the event due to terrible track conditions.

Williams Grove and Trail-Way Speedways cancelled Friday night racing due to rain.

That's a wrap on another weekend as we head into the Easter weekend. I'd like to wish everyone a Happy Easter and as always, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@aol.com.

Return to top