2009-01-15 / Local & State

Bonnie Keefer To Continue Heading County Board

3.5 percent salary increase approved
By Chanin Rotz-Mountz STAFF WRITER

The general structure of the Fulton County Board of Commissioners will remain unchanged in 2009 in conjunction with action taken by commissioners Bonnie Mellott Keefer, Daniel Swain Jr. and David Hoover II during their first meeting of the new year.

In gathering Tuesday, January 6, for general office matters and reorganization issues, the commissioners were unanimous in their decision for Keefer and Swain to continue serving in the respective capacity of chair and vice chair of the board. In addition, longtime employee Richard Wible will once again serve as secretary to the board of Fulton County commissioners.

Unless otherwise advertised, the board along with the Fulton County Retirement Board, Fulton County Salary Board and the Board of Assessment and Appeals will continue to meet every Tuesday starting at 8:30 a.m. in the commissioners' office located at 116 West Market Street, McConnellsburg.

Appointments approved during the reorganization process of the meeting include: solicitor Stanley Kerlin, chief clerk Richard Wible, Tax Claim Bureau Director Monica Seville, chief assessor Michelle Sowers, Sealer of Weights & Measuresthe PA Department of Ag, Director of Veterans' Affairs Ed Stenger, Public Defender Tamela Bard, engineer-Keller Engineer and EMA/911 Director Vince Joyce.

Furthermore, Human Services Administrator Jean Snyder was appointed by the commissioners to serve on the Drug & Alcohol Advisory Board, while technology director Eldon Martin will serve on the Southern Alleghenies Planning and Development Commission. Seleen Shives of the Conservation District will serve as a county representative on the Southern Alleghenies Conservancy Board.

The commissioners divided their participation on a series of county and out-of-county boards into the following:

Southern Alleghenies (SA) Planning & Development Commission, commissioners Swain and Hoover

Drug & Alcohol Advisory Board, Commissioner Hoover

Fulton Behavioral Health Focus Board, Commissioner Keefer

RC&D Council, Commissioner Hoover alternate member

Center for Community Services, Commissioner Hoover

EMA Local Planning Committee, Commissioner Keefer

Area Agency on Aging Board, all three commissioners

Tri-County Solid Waste Board, all three commissioners

Economic Development Corp., all three commissioners

Center for Families Advisory Board, Commissioner Hoover

Fulton County Human Services Council, Commissioner Keefer

Fulton County Partnership Board, all three commissioners

SA Rural Transportation Committee, Commissioner Hoover

SA Finance Committee, Commissioner Swain

SA Community Economic Strategy Committee, Commissioner Swain

SA Personnel Committee, Commissioner Hoover

Criminal Justice Advisory Board/Intermediate Punishment Board, all three commissioners

Mental Health/Mental Retardation, Commissioner Hoover

Pandemic Planning, Commissioner Keefer

County Records Improvement Committee, all three commissioners

Retirement Board, all three commissioners

STOP Grant Committee, Commissioner Keefer

Election Board, all three commissioners

Assessment Appeals Board, all three commissioners

Salary Board, all three commissioners

VOCA Grant Board, Commissioner Keefer

Tuscarora Managed Care, commissioners Keefer and Swain

Services for Children Advisory Board, Commissioner Keefer

The commissioners held multiple meetings with departments heads as the Salary Board to discuss salary increases for employees within their departments. Deputy coroners under coroner Darryl Heckman are slated to receive a 3.5 percent salary increase effective January 5. Other department heads who were scheduled to discuss the approved increase with the commissioners were District Attorney Travis Kendall, prothonotary Patty Fix and sheriff Keith Stains.

The commissioners met with Kevin Strait of the maintenance department regarding his possible assistance with interior renovations in county offices. Business manger Tim Stanton will coordinate with Strait on what areas need modified. The most pressing area needing attention at this time, according to the commissioners, is the relocation of the probation office employees.

A reimbursement request in the amount of $4,487.99 will be submitted to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. The overall amount includes a federal share of 80 percent, and an additional 20 percent in state/local share. The reimbursement will be earmarked for expenditures associated with the preliminary engineering costs from Keller Engineers for the JLG turning lane project.

This week the commissioners signed a cooperative agreement for the 2009 gypsy moth suppression program in conjunction with the Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources. Through the residential spray program, 1,364 acres will be sprayed in the county this spring.

Several requests for payments were signed and approved as submitted as part of the Fulton County Library renovation project. Monies in the amount of $75,120.22 will be paid to Eagle Construction Co.; Rodney B. Smith Plumbing, Heating and Cooling; and R&S Electric.

Following a meeting with Edward Silvetti, executive director of the Southern Alleghenies Planning and Development Commission, the board authorized the following individuals to serve as "at-large" members of the commission's board: Jay Cessna, Bedford; Sharon Clapper, Meyersdale; James Lakso, Huntingdon; Dennis J. Munko, Johnstown; Arthur Wilkin Jr., Altoona; and Heather Meck, Loretto.

The commissioners signed an agreement with Zelenkofske Axelrod LLC for the completion of a compliance audit of the Medical Assistance Transportation Program for the years ending June 30, 2006, 2007 and 2008. The firm will compete the audit at a cost of $2,350. The program is run by the Fulton County Partnership.

Edward Stenger, Veterans Affairs director, discussed various aspects of his job title and description with the commissioners.

Return to top