2008-11-13 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Hagerstown Speedway officially wrapped up the 2008 racing season over the weekend with the 21st annual Octoberfest 350. The event was rescheduled from two weeks ago.

Fred Rahmer led all 50 laps to win the 410 Sprint portion of the event over Greg Hodnett, Don Kreitz Jr., Cody Darrah and Mark Smith. Stevie Smith, Wayne Johnson, Lucas Wolfe, Alan Cole and Ed Lynch Jr. were the top 10.

Tim McCreadie took top honors in the 100-lap Late Model main as Josh Richards came from the rear of the field to finish in the runner-up spot. Jason Covert, Rick Eckert, Alan Sagi, Gary Stuhler, Frankie Plessinger, Jim Yoder, Brian Ruhlman and Jeremy Miller were the top 10.

Brett Hearn won the Big Block Modified feature, while Rick Laubach took the small block modified win. All feature winners earned $10,000.

Rahmer was honored as the 2008 Williams Grove Speedway 410 Sprint car champion Friday night at the track's banquet at the Radisson Penn Harris in Camp Hill.

Rahmer's title was worth $15,000 for his eighth career Cindy Rowe Auto Glass title. He had five wins during the season and 20 top-five finishes. The title was the first for his car owners, Chad and Jenn Clemens.

Rahmer's former crew chief, Tim Elwell, was named Mechanic of the Year; Sportsmanship went to Alan Krimes; Cody Darrah won the Most Improved; and John Westbrook was the 410 Rookie of the Year. Westbrook accepted his award via telephone from his Magee Rehab Center in Philadelphia.

Pat Cannon, who will be the driver of the Jesse Keen-owned 410 Sprint car in 2009 was honored as the 358 Sprint car title at the Grove. It was his second straight title.

Frankie Herr (Sportsman), Gene Knaub (Limited Late Models), Doug Hoffman (Street Stocks) and Dave Leidy (4-cylinders) were also honored as 2008 track champions.

That will do it for the 2008 racing season as the countdown begins for the 2009 season-openers. Unfortunately, it was a miserable weekend for Penn State as they lost their bid for the BCS title game with a very disappointing loss to Iowa. So until next time, e-mail reaches me at Bvores@aol.com.

Return to top