2008-10-09 / Entertainment

Path Valley Racing News

With only one points race remaining, Tim McClelland started on the pole in the 270 Sprints and raced to his first win of the season Friday night at Path Valley Speedway Park.

In the other sprints classes, George Ridden won in the full-size 305 Sprints, and Tyler Walton won in the 600 Sprints.

In the popular local stock cars, Ricky Harper started on the pole in the Mini Stocks and won by half the track, while Jeremy Ott started on the front row of the Thunder Cars and won by a length.

A climax to the Path Valley racing season draws near with the final points races of the season next Friday night, Oct. 10, and then the annual All Sprints Nationals next Saturday.

The Legends Cars, Late Models and 305 Sprints have finished their points seasons, but the 600 Sprints, Sidewinders, 270 Sprints, Mini Stocks and Thunder Cars will all be on the ticket next Friday night.

With the points season completed, the following day's races on Saturday, Oct. 11, will feature the All Sprints Nationals, with the 305 Sprints, Sidewinder 1000cc Sprints, 600 Sprints and 270 Sprints each racing 30 laps for at least $500 to the winner.

Gates open at 3 p.m. for the Sprints Nationals at Path Valley, and racing begins by 5 p.m. Contingency prizes for all four sprints classes include a framed 8x10 for each winner from Rob Keller Photos, a $50 gift certificate from Aero Wings of Chambersburg and a tire certificate to each winner from American Tires.

The Hard Charger Award for the 600 Sprints is sponsored by 600Scene.com and additional sponsors include Juniata Beverage, McIntyre Motorsports, BMS Racing and Saner Motorsports. Sponsors in the 270 Sprints include G.W. Transport and Melvin's Auto Repair, and the 270 Hard Charger Awards is sponsored by McClellan Racing. Sponsors for the Sidewinder Sprints include Rohan Beasley, Jason Morrison and Saner Motorsports.

Big Mike's Videos is sponsoring the Hard Charger Award for the 305 Sprints and additional 305 Sprints sponsors include Worrick's Garage, Hershey's, HP Engines, Kumpf Motor Sports, 'Cowboy' Jim Kennedy, Wood Naturally, Goshorn Racing Fuel and Jim Stenger's The Toyer's Shop.

The finale of the 2008 season is the annual Rewards Banquet, which is Nov. 15 at Pleasant Hall Firehall, and tickets are available now at the track.

Out of fourth place, Tyler Walton waited until lap 14 to pull alongside Trevin Shank in the 600 Sprints night opener and then completed his pass to lead at the end of lap 16. At the finish he led by a full turn, and the front-five finishers were Walton, Shank, Jesse Fitz, Timmie Barrick and Kevin Steele. Keith McIntyre and Tyler DeVault won the heats.

Jeremy Ott took the lead on lap two of the Thunder Cars and raced all the way to the finish with only one caution as Bill Kennedy and then Mike Brindle tried to catch up. The front five were Ott, Mike Brindle, Denny Scofield, Josh Walstrum and Jim Shatzer, and Ott and Kennedy won the heats.

From the outside front row start, George Ridden leaped into the lead in the 305 Sprints and with only one caution to regroup the field Ridden won by a length ahead of Tyler Bear, with Craig Laudermilch, Mike Freet and Michael Heckman completing the front five. Bear and Laudermilch won the heats.

For his first win, Tim McClelland started on the pole in the 270 Sprints and chased across the finish with Brian Marriot up from 12th to dog his rear bumper after lap 12. McClelland, Marriot, Steve Whary, Jason Houtz and Levi Peck were the front-five finishers, and heat winners were McClelland and Marriot.

The front five in the Mini Stocks were Ricky Harper, Kevin Thomas, Tim Burkholder, Gary Dehart and Gary Newell, and after a lap-nine caution Harper led by a turn and more, using lapped cars after lap 15 to increase his lead. Tim Burkholder and Kevin Thomas won the heat races.

Return to top