2008-10-02 / Entertainment

Path Valley Racers Beat The Rain

With a gallant effort Friday night the racers and track crew at the Path Valley Speedway Park beat Mother Nature, completing all six feature events by 10:30 before the rain resumed.

Tim Fedder proved his metal with his win in the Late Models and Dave Leidy made his third visit of the year pay off with his third win in the mini stocks. The INEX Legends feature win went to Reed Salony, Tim Buckwalter won in the 600 Sprints and Steve Whary won the 270 Sprints feature. For his first win of the season Mark Grove took home the money for his Thunder Car win.

Three events remain for the Path Valley clay oval and next Friday night, Oct. 3, features the 305 Sprints and all four regular weekly classes. Then Oct. 4 the racers move to Susquehanna Speedway for a half mile event for the AMA. Racing returns to Path Valley on Oct. 10 with the final race for the Late Models and the Sidewinders and then the big show of the year, the Eighth Annual All Sprints National Open, is scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 11.

Tickets are now available at the track for the annual Rewards Banquet Saturday, Nov. 15, at the Pleasant Hall Firehall.

The Mini Stocks opened the raindelayed night with Dave Leidy leading every lap. In his previous visits to Path Valley, Leidy won the Wes Scofield Memorial and then the Four-Cylinder Shootout. He proved they were no fluke with a runaway win, leading by a full turn and more in the early laps. Ricky Harper came within a car length of him on lap 15, but Leidy pulled away on the smooth, tacky clay, and won going away as Harper hit the front stretch wall.

Tim Buckwalter ran just ahead of Jake Murphy all 20 laps for his 600 Sprints win. Two cautions regrouped the cars and each time Buckwalter held onto his lead with Murphy right behind. The front five finishers were Buckwalter, Murphy, Timmie Barrick, Brent Marks and Jim Brookens and the heats went to Buckwalter and Zach Light.

The race for second place was fierce in the Late Models as Steve Bailor, Rick Singleton and then Tim Smith held the runner-up spot, but the lead belonged firmly to Tim Fedder. The front five were Fedder, Smith, Singleton, Bailor and Tim Burkholder and the heats went to Fedder and Bailor.

Reed Salony took the Legends Cars lead from Randy Kissinger as the two went wheel to wheel through laps three to six and then Salony held off a serious challenge from Jason Rochelle to take the checkered. The front five were Salony, Rochelle, Kissinger, Scott Houde-shell and Jason Ewing. Geremey Sheaffer and Salony won the heats. A gentle rainfall punctuated the Legends racing but the cars ran fast enough to keep the track dry. The track gave up on intermission and raced without the usual victory lane celebrations to beat the oncoming rain.

Mark Grove started on the pole for the Thunder Car chase that ran without pause after a lap-one caution when Terry Smith stalled in turn four. Danny McAllen took the lead on lap three and held it all the way to the final lap when his car shut down, leaving Mark Grove back in front to take the win. McAllen had led by half the track at lap 15, but at the checkered the front five were Grove, Mike Brindle, Terry Smith, Denny Scofield and Justin Rasp. Grove and Josh Walstrum won the heat races.

With rain threatening in the distance, Steve Whary led from the pole non stop to the finish in the 270 Sprints. Ryan McAndrew picked up second place on the second lap but never seriously threatened Whary and at the finish the front five were Whary, Ryan and then Sean McAndrew, Kameron Morral and Zack Fouse. Morral and Ryan McAndrew won the heats.

Return to top