2008-09-24 / Sports

Racing Roundup

By Brad Vores

Ashley Barrett, Dale Hollidge and Mark Digges left Hagerstown Speedway's Shamrock Inn Small Car Nationals Saturday with the big paychecks.

Barrett led all 30 laps of the Late Model Sportsman main but it didn't come without excitement on the final turn of the event when he and Dylan Yoder made contact and went out of control. Barrett was able to maintain the lead and score the win. It was his fourth win of the year and was worth $2,000.

Pete Weaver snuck by Yoder at the checkered flag with Yoder, who started 22nd and crossed the finish line backwards in third. Fourth went to Kyle Lear over Andy Fries. Cory Houck finished 12th and Tyler Hershey 19th.

Hollidge won the Pure Stock portion of the Nationals over Hans Stamberg, Harrisonville's Tony Daniels, Darrin Younker and Michael Ross, while Digges was the 4-cylinder winner over Roger Whitlock, Dave Leidy, John Stoll Jr. and Gregg Keister.

Pat Cannon topped off a great season at Selinsgrove Speedway with Saturday night's win in the 30- lap National Open for 358 Sprint cars.

Cannon, the 2008 track champion and 14 time overall winner, took the big $5,000 payday over Blane Heimbach, Phil Walter, Mike Walter and Jason Shultz.

Chad Layton ended a long dry spell with his first 410 Sprint car win of the year Friday at Williams Grove Speedway.

Layton went out front on lap 12 and never looked back in the win over Todd Shaffer, Brian Montieth, Fred Rahmer and Doug Dodson.

The Super Sportsman were in action two times Friday at Williams Grove with Stan Wanner winning the makeup feature rained out on September 5. He won over Ryan Rupp, Rich Eichelberger, John Stoner and Russ Mitten while Danny Hager topped the regular feature over Dave Berkheimer, Frankie Herr, Phil Griffith and Doug Hendricks.

Doug Esh topped Saturday night's Hank Gentzler Memorial Manufacturer's Appreciation for 410 Sprints Saturday at Lincoln Speedway. Esh's fourth win of the year was worth $4,000, and it came over Jim Siegel, Fred Rahmer, Cody Darrah and Lucas Wolfe.

Jeff Rohrbaugh capped off a perfect season at Trail-Way Speedway with his seventh 358 Sprint car win of the year Friday night as he was officially named the 2008 track champion. His win came over Dale Hammaker, Mike Bittinger, Danny Dietrich and Brad McClelland.

Ryan Rupp won the first-ever Wingless Super Sportsman feature Saturday at Williams Grove Speedway. He led all 20 laps in the win over Bobby Hockenberry, Doug Hendricks, Scott Dellinger and Gregg Foster. Frankie Herr is the 2008 Sportsman track champion.

Roy Miller won his first career 358 Late Model feature at the track over Dave Shulski, Dave Sokoloski, Dallas Wenrich and Mike Walls. Gene Knaub is the 2008 track champion.

In other Late Model action, Steve Baker won Saturday night's Pittsburger 100 at Pennsylvania Motor Speedway over Davey Johnson, Doug Dodd, Alex Ferree and Josh Richards. Jeremy Miller was sixth, Alan Sagi 17th and Gary Stuhler 29th.

That's a wrap on another week of action as the Williams Grove Mickey Hughes National Open for the World of Outlaws is on tap this weekend. Unfortunately, with the big race, we must skip Penn State's Big 10 opener and the Whiteout this weekend. So hopefully the Grove Open is a good one and until next week, email reaches me at Bvores@aol.com.

Return to top